David C. Smith Legacy Fund 

For many years, David Smith has been a true leader and visionary in the Austin community. It was his vision, his passion, his leadership that created the Hill Country Ride for AIDS.

The first Ride was in April 2000 and so far has raised over $5 million for people living with HIV and AIDS in central Texas. Now in it’s thirteenth year, not only is the Ride the most successful AIDS fundraising event in central Texas, it is among the most successful AIDS rides in the country. The Ride has been voted “Best Bike Ride” in the Austin Chronicle Readers’ Poll the last two years in a row.

It is because of David Smith that the Ride has grown into the force it is today. As a tribute to David and in recognition of his mark on the AIDS community, the David C. Smith Legacy Fund has been established to both honor David for his extraordinary commitment to this work and to leave a lasting financial legacy for the Ride. The Fund will allow the Ride to operate at a financially stable level with sufficient working capital to produce the largest AIDS fundraiser in central Texas.
David Smith’s legacy will continue to benefit central Texans living with HIV/AIDS for many years to come.

Please consider a gift of $1,300 - $100 for each year of David's 13 years with the Ride. 
Or, $2,600 - $200 for each year; $5,200 - $400 for each year. 



Want to donate offline?  Please send your donation to 

Hill Country Ride for AIDS at PO Box 49097, Austin, Texas 78765
Attn: David C. Smith Legacy Fund 

To schedule your donation, please call the Ride office: (512) 371-7433

Because of your generosity, the Ride now has the resources to sustain itself for many years to come. Click HERE to learn more about the fund. 

2012 David C. Smith Legacy Fund Donors:

Andy Albright
Lew Aldridge
Margery Anderson
Jim Arth
Carolyn Atchison
Greg Barbutti and Mike McElhaney
Joe Barry
Judy Beaman
Jay Billig
LeAnn Billups
The Blanton Family
Lauren Bradshaw
Russell Bridges and Ralph Salinas
Tracy Butchee
Christina Comacho
Kate Cronkite
Bob Dailey
Jeff Daniel
Steve Davis
Bill Dickson
Bill Evans
Jay Farrell
Winnie and Les Gage
Francis Genco
Rachel Glast
Bob Gutermuth
Charlotte Hale
Richard Hartgrove and Gary Cooper
Pat Henneberry
Susan Hightower
John Hildreth
Christine Hutson
Carol Johnson
Roni Kendall
Liam Kernell
Ellen Larkin
Lisa Lawrence
Renee Lockey
Joe Loicano
Donald Lovering
Lee Manford and Casey Blass
Everett McKinley
Laura Merritt and J.P. Kloninger
Michael Metteauer
Scott Meyer
Andy Miller and Brian Stephens
Janice Morgan
Tom O’Meara
Melissa and Matt Orwig
Kate Patton
Janis and Joe Pinnelli
Robert Pitman
Scott Quinn
Kirk Rice
Gina and Marty Richardson
Eva and Peter Riley
Chris Riley
Mark Schade
Jody Scheske
Paul Scott and Scott Simons
Eugene Sepulveda and Steven Tomlinson
Ted Smith
Samantha Smoot
Flint Sparks and Erin Curtis
Liz and Duff Stewart
Jack Taylor and Peter Maxon
Sandi Tomlinson
Skot Tulk
Towers Watson
Tony West
Aubrey Wilkerson
Becky Willard
Andy Wisner
Leigh Wisner
Ruth Wunderlich
Stan You


The Hill Country Ride for AIDS is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization and all donations are tax deductible (EIN: 27-3560102).